Canara Bank – Important Points

  • Ammembal Subba Rao Pai established Canara Hindu Permanent Fund in Mangalore, India, on 1 July 1906.
  • In 1910 the Bank changed it’s name to Canara Bank Limited.
  • Canara Bank Limited was incorporated in 1990
  • In 1958, the Reserve Bank of India ordered Canara Bank to acquire G. Raghumathmul Bank, in Hyderabad.
  • G. Raghumathmul Bank was established in 1870 and converted into limited company on 1925.
  • G. Raghumathmul Bank had five branch at the time of acquisition.
  • On 19 July 1969 government of India nationalised Canara Bank Limited and it renamed as Canara Bank after nationalization.
  • In 1976, Canara Bank inaugurated its 1000th branch.
  • Canara Bank Logo
  • In 1996 Canara Bank became the first Indian Bank to get ISO certification for “Total Branch Banking” for its Seshadripuram branch in Bangalore.
  • In 2005 Canara Bank achieved 100% Branch computerization.
  • In 2006 Canara Bank entered 100th Year in Banking Service.

One thought on “Canara Bank – Important Points

  1. Anusha Gujuluva says:

    It was incorporated in 1910 not 1990

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *