President of India Dissolves the 15th Lok Sabha

President of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee on May 18, 2014 dissolved the 15th Lok Sabha on the recommendation of outgoing Union Cabinet led by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh who resigned on 17 May 2014.

According to the Article 85 (2)(b) of the Constitution of India, the President of India has the rights to dissolve the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India parliament. In this matter president generally acts on the advice of the outgoing Union Cabinet.

Union Cabinet recommended the dissolution of 15th Lok Sabha as a follow-up to the general election result. The dissolution of the Lower House of the Parliament will pave the way for constitution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

In the recently concluded general election, BJP led National Democratic Alliance won 336 out of 543 seats of Lok Sabha while the Congress led UPA managed only 58 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *