Chandi Prasad Bhatt won Gandhi Peace Prize for 2013

Noted Gandhian environmentalist and social activist Chandi Prasad BhattChandi Prasad Bhatt won the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2013 on February 28, 2014.

Chandi Prasad Bhatt, born in 1934, founded Dasholi Gram Swarajya Sangh that became the mother-organisation to Chipko movement and he is considered to be one of the pioneers of the Chipko movement for which he was awarded with the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 1982. In 2005, he was awarded with Padma Bhushan, 3rdd highest civilian award.

Today he is known for his work on subaltern social ecology, and considered one of India’s first modern environmentalist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *