Gulzar selected for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2013

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India announced on April 12, 2014 that legendary poet and film lyricist Sampooran Singh Kalra famous as Gulzar was selected for Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2013. He is the 45th winner of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

gulzar-newThe award is conferred by the government for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema.

The award was introduced in 1969. Award was introduced to commemorate the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India’s highest award in cinema. It is presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

Last five winner of Dadasaheb Phalke Award:

  • D. Ramanaidu (2009)
  • K. Balachander (2010)
  • Soumitra Chatterjee (2011)
  • Pran (2012)
  • Gulzar (2013).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *