IRS officer Sudha Sharma is New CBDT chief

Sudha Sharma is new CBDT chief.

Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer Sudha SharmaSudha Sharma has been appointed the new Chairperson of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) on May 31, 2013, an order issued by the finance ministry.

Sudha Sharma will replace Poonam Kishore Saxena who retired on May 31. Sharma, a 1976-batch IRS officer, was till now serving as member (legislation and computerisation) in the seven-member CBDT.

She takes over at a time when CBDT and the I-T department have been tasked by the government with the daunting job of collecting Rs 6.68 lakh-crore revenue for 2013-14, up from Rs 5.65 lakh-crore in the previous financial year.

Tagged with 
CBDT CBDT chief Sudha Sharma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *