Laureus World Sports Awards 2012 – Current Affairs

The Laureus World Sports Awards are awarded annually to sportspeople who have been outstanding during the previous year. The Laureus World Sports Awards were established in 1999 by Founding Patrons Daimler and Richemont. It is the highest international sport awards.

List of Laureus World Sports Awards Winner 2012:

  • Sportsman of the Year: Novak Djokovic (Tennis) of Serbia.
  • Sportswoman of the Year: Vivian Cheruiyot (Distance Runner/ Athletes) of Kenya.
  • Team of the Year: FC Barcelona (Football)
  • Breakthrough of the Year: Rory McIlroy (Golf) of Northern Ireland
  • Comeback of the Year: Darren Clarke (Golf) of Northern Ireland
  • Sportsperson with a Disability of the Year: Oscar Pistorius (Athletics) – South Africa
  • Action Sportsperson of the Year: Kelly Slater (Surfing) – United States of America
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir Bobby Charlton (Football) – United Kingdom
  • Spirit of Sport Award: Not awarded in 2012.
  • Sport for Good Award: Raí (Campaigner for social justice) of Brazil


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *