List of Nobel Prize Winners For 2011

The Nobel Prize for 2011 in Chemistry, Physics, Medicine, Literature and Peace are out. The List of Nobel Prize Winners of this year follows.

The Nobel Prize for Medicine/Physiology is being awarded jointly to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann “for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity” and to Ralph M. Steinman “for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity”. While Beutler and Hoffman received half the prize, while Steinmen received the other half.

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize

The 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics goes to Saul Perlmutter (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, UC Berkeley), Prof. Brian Schmidt (High Z Supernova search team) and Prof. Adam Reiss (High Z Supernova search team). While Permutter got half the Prize, the other half went jointly to Schmidt and Reiss. The citation reads “discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe by observation”.

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry is being awarded to Daniel Schechtman from Israel for the discovery of quasi crystals, which was his Nobel citation. He is the sole winner for this year’s prize.

The Nobel Prize for Literature goes to the Swedish poet Tomas Transtromer. He was awarded the Prize because because, through his condensed, translucent images, he gives us fresh access to reality.

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman for “their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”. Remember that this prize is not given in Stockholm, but in Oslo, Norway.

The 2011 Economics Nobel, called the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences was jointly awarded to Thomas Sargent and Christopher A Sims. Their citation says “for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy”.

One thought on “List of Nobel Prize Winners For 2011

  1. probably one of noble prize quest surely aked in exams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *